House Energy and Commerce Committee Republicans


Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade

Jurisdiction: Interstate and foreign commerce, including all trade matters within the jurisdiction of the full committee; Regulation of commercial practices (the FTC), including sports-related matters; Consumer affairs and consumer protection, including privacy matters generally; Consumer product safety (the CPSC); Product liability; Motor vehicle safety; and, Regulation of travel, tourism, and time.

Republicans Democrats
Mary Bono Mack (CA) Chair G. K. Butterfield (NC)
Marsha Blackburn (TN) Vice Chair Charles A. Gonzalez (TX) 
Cliff Stearns (FL)  Jim Matheson (UT)   
Charlie Bass (NH)     John D. Dingell (MI)
Gregg Harper (MS) Edolphus Towns (NY)  
Leonard Lance (NJ)    Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Bill Cassidy (LA)   Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Brett Guthrie (KY)    John Sarbanes (MD)
Pete Olson (TX)    Henry A. Waxman (CA)
David McKinley (WV)  
Mike Pompeo (KS)  
Adam Kinzinger (IL)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  


Subcommittee on Energy and Power

Jurisdiction: National energy policy generally; Fossil energy, renewable energy resources and synthetic fuels, energy conservation, energy information; Energy regulation and utilization; Utility issues and regulation of nuclear facilities; Interstate energy compacts; Nuclear energy; The Clean Air Act and air emissions; and, All laws, programs, and government activities affecting such matters.

Republicans Democrats
Ed Whitfield (KY) Chair Bobby L. Rush (IL)
John Sullivan (OK) Vice Chair  Kathy Castor (FL)
John Shimkus (IL) John Sarbanes (MD)
Greg Walden (OR)     John D. Dingell (MI)
Lee Terry (NE)   Edward J. Markey (MA)
Michael Burgess (TX)    Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Brian Bilbray (CA)   Gene Green (TX)
Steve Scalise (LA)    Lois Capps (CA)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)      Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Pete Olson (TX)    Charles A. Gonzalez (TX)
David McKinley (WV)   Henry A. Waxman (CA)
Cory Gardner (CO)  
Mike Pompeo (KS)  
Morgan Griffith (VA)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  


Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy

Jurisdiction: All matters relating to soil and water contamination; The regulation of solid, hazardous, and nuclear wastes; The regulation of industrial plant security; The regulation of drinking water; and, The regulation of toxic substances and noise.

Republicans Democrats
John Shimkus (IL) Chair  Gene Green (TX)
Tim Murphy (PA) Vice Chair Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Ed Whitfield (KY)   G. K. Butterfield (NC)
Joe Pitts (PA)  John Barrow (GA)
Mary Bono Mack (CA)  Doris O. Matsui (CA)
John Sullivan (OK)  Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ)
Charlie Bass (NH)   Diana DeGette (CO)
Bob Latta (OH)  Lois Capps (CA)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA) John D. Dingell (MI)
Gregg Harper (MS) Henry A. Waxman (CA)
Bill Cassidy (LA)  
Cory Gardner (CO)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  


Subcommittee on Health

Jurisdiction: Public health and quarantine; hospital construction; mental health and research; biomedical programs and health protection in general, including public and private health insurance; Food and drugs; and, Drug abuse.

Republicans Democrats
Joe Pitts (PA) Chair Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ)
Michael Burgess (TX) Vice Chair    John D. Dingell (MI)
Ed Whitfield (KY)   Edolphus Towns (NY)
John Shimkus (IL)      Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Mike Rogers (MI) Lois Capps (CA)
Sue Myrick (NC)   Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Tim Murphy (PA)        Charles A. Gonzalez (TX)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)      Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Phil Gingrey (GA) Mike Ross (AR)
Bob Latta (OH) Jim Matheson (UT)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA) Henry A. Waxman (CA)
Leonard Lance (NJ)  
Bill Cassidy (LA)  
Brett Guthrie (KY)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  


Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Jurisdiction: Responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs within the jurisdiction of the full committee, and for conducting investigations within such jurisdiction.

Republicans Democrats
Cliff Stearns (FL) Chair Diana DeGette (CO)
Lee Terry (NE) Vice Chair – C & T  Jan Schakowsky (IL)
John Sullivan (OK) Vice Chair – E & P   Mike Ross (AK)
Tim Murphy (PA) Vice Chair – E &  E  Kathy Castor (FL)
Michael Burgess (TX) Vice Chair – Health   Edward J. Markey (MA)
Marsha Blackburn (TN) Vice Chair – CMT Gene Green (TX)
Sue Myrick (NC) Vice Chair – Full Committee      Donna Christensen (VI)
Brian Bilbray (CA)    John D. Dingell (MI)
Phil Gingrey (GA)   Henry A. Waxman (CA)
Steve Scalise (LA)  
Cory Gardner (CO)  
Morgan Griffith (VA)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  


Subcommittee on Communications and Technology

Jurisdiction: Interstate and foreign telecommunications including, but not limited to, all telecommunication and information transmission by broadcast, radio, wire, microwave, satellite, or other mode.

Republicans Democrats
Greg Walden (OR) Chair    Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
Lee Terry (NE) Vice Chair Edward J. Markey (MA)
Cliff Stearns (FL) Michael F. Doyle (PA)
John Shimkus (IL)     Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Mary Bono Mack (CA)        John Barrow (GA)
Mike Rogers (MI)   Donna Christensen (VI)
Brian Bilbray (CA)         Edolphus Towns (NY)
Charlie Bass (NH)     Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)  Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Phil Gingrey (GA)    Diana DeGette (CO)
Steve Scalise (LA)  John D. Dingell (MI)
Bob Latta (OH) Henry A. Waxman (CA)
Brett Guthrie (KY)  
Adam Kinzinger (IL)  
Joe Barton (TX)  
Fred Upton (MI)  

U.S. Representative Fred Upton

U.S. Representative Joe L. Barton

Congressman Fred Upton has represented the commonsense values of southwest Michigan since 1987. In 2010, Fred was selected by his House colleagues to serve as Chairman of the Committee on Energy and Commerce. Read More»;